What’s with all the Pyrex?

IMG_0051 I started collecting Pyrex years ago, before it became such a hot retro item. I’d pick it up at garage sales and thrift stores for a song. I remember the day I realized something was up with my old Pyrex. I was at an ordinary garage sale, and the lady had several sets of nesting bowls. Thinking I’d hit the lotto, I was ready to pounce on it all. When I asked ‘how much’, the sound of screeching brakes was all I heard in my head when she told me. She did not give me garage sale prices. I walked away with just a few bowls, not the mother lode I had hoped for.

But I am persistent, and have been able to find many good deals since then. I have a saying, that when I walk into an estate sale or thrift store, I go through it first with my ‘Pyrex eyes’, scanning quickly and looking for nothing else except those bright Pyrex colors. My Pyrex eyes have won me a few pieces away from others, when I’ve been silly enough to shop with other collectors. Also, my ability to hip check hasn’t hurt either.

IMG_0058 How does the Pyrex fit into vintage rental? I envision lovely buffets, with long tables covered in bright bowls and divided casseroles. Or family style service, with each table passing around salads and entrees in beautiful Pyrex. My collection of mis-matched china table settings look even prettier with their color coordinated Pyrex companions. I have so many pieces to choose from, in many different colors. And I’m always picking up more – because you can NEVER have too much Pyrex.

Leave a Reply

